39 Weeks Pregnant & Waiting on Baby

10945896_722447311203745_3415951922473452839_oI found out I was pregnant 246 days ago. In some ways it seems like an eternity, in others it seems like just yesterday. Right now, I’m sitting on a birthing ball and counting down the days until my due date.

Being pregnant is a wild ride. It’s one of the most exciting, scariest, strangest and beautiful things I’ve ever done. It’s changed my perspective on life and the world around me. I’ve spent the last 9 months preparing to have a baby in my life. I know nothing will ever truly make me ready, but I feel like my husband and I have put in a lot of hours to prep work.

I think the biggest prep work we’ve done hasn’t been setting up the nursery or buying supplies. It wasn’t putting in the car seat or decorating her room, it was sitting down and talking We’ve talked about how we want to raise our little girl, what dreams we have for her, how our own childhoods would shape hers. We’ve talked about parenting styles and our expectations. We’ve talked about how we’ll handle it when things get rough. Mostly though we’ve just resolved to tackle parenthood as a team.

So as we anxiously wait out the end of my pregnancy we are trying to enjoy these last few days. Although we love our life now, we’re ready to let go of it and bring home our baby girl. Wondering what my life is like at 39 weeks pregnant? Here goes it.

How far along? 39 weeks, 4 days

Total weight gain/loss: Gained 27 pounds

Maternity clothes? Yes! I still wear some pre-pregnancy tanks and leggings, but otherwise it’s maternity clothes or my husbands clothes.

Stretch marks? No and I hope to keep it that way!

Sleep: Pretty good, besides waking up to pee a million and a half times.

Best moment this week: Just spending time with my husband before the baby arrives.

Have you told family and friends: Oh yes, and they ask for updates on if the baby is here every day.

Movement: She moves like crazy! They said she’d slow down before labor, so I am guessing it’s not near!

Food cravings: Surprisingly, I’ve made it through pregnancy with almost no cravings! Although I don’t turn down a bowl of ice cream every now and then.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not anymore! In my first trimester coffee, asparagus and onions were enough to make me lose my lunch.

Have you started to show yet: Yes! I get comments everywhere I go such as ‘WOW! You look ready to pop!!!’

Leakage: A little bit.

Gender prediction: Not a prediction, it’s a girl!

Labor Signs: Maybe? I’m not sure. I hope some of my signs are labor signs!

Belly Button in or out? Out and proud.

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy. I only get moody when I think “OH THIS IS IT” and then it’s not. Still pregnant.

Weekly Wisdom: The baby will come when she’s ready, not when I’m ready (because let’s be honest that would have been months ago).

Milestones: Reaching 39 weeks, which is officially considered full term!

Let's Chat!

