5 Ways I Get Through Life’s Difficulties

This is a glimpse into whaMMOMt my morning looked like. It’s what a lot of my life looks like. I used to let situations like this really get into my head. I’m not perfect, let’s be real here, but stuff like this doesn’t bother me much anymore.

So when everything is going wrong, here are 5 ways I cope with my own chaos.

1. Laugh

Seriously, laughter is the best medicine. Try being upset after you’ve had a good belly laugh. You can’t. When I spilled the contents of my lunch box is the parking lot of my office I thought “only me” and I laughed. I couldn’t help it. I mean, I tried to make a simple pot of coffee in the morning, only to end up with all the coffee grounds floating in my brew (how does that even happen?!). I decided to beat the odds by bringing along some delicious amaretto creamer. Nope. I had one too many things in my lunch box. I had to laugh at myself.

2. Realize it Could Be Worse

Holy crap. It’s so annoying when someone else says this to you. Especially when you’re in the middle of throwing yourself an exclusive, invite-only pity party. Like, how could ANYTHING be worse than having to use the original flavored creamer at my office? How could ANYTHING be worse than knowing that I passed a fully operational Starbucks on my way to work in favor my amaretto flavored coffee? Nothing, that’s what. Also my apple was on the ground. Not so gross, since it came from a tree, except this is a parking lot. Anyways, once you’ve regained your ability to think clearly it really does help to know it could always be worse. I took a few moments after this to be grateful for everything I do have, and that helped a lot.

3. Move On

How many people do you know who just can’t move on? Okay, if I’m being totally honest I get stuck in ruts sometimes. Have you ever had some completely useless thought, feeling, fear or grudge stuck on repeat in your head? Listen, this is not 2001, you can’t just take your brain out and try wiping off the scratch. You just have to move on and be okay with that. Because honestly I had better things to do than be upset over a little spilled coffee creamer. Plus, it’s not like I spilled a pumpkin spice latte. And that’s how you implement number 2.

4. Take Everything in Stride 

It’s super easy to get caught up by little things. Once you forget number three, your day becomes a cascading nightmare of events. Every little thing that happens to you seems to reinforce your victim mentality. Your mantra for the day becomes “why me”. After I let go of my not-so-great morning, I didn’t have any other absurdities happen to me. Uh, except my raging pregnancy hormones (I’m 27 weeks pregnant, so I’ll give myself a pass on this). I’m sure other stupid things happened to me, but I didn’t let them become a list. I just took everything one event at a time. I’m not always great at this, but I can see a serious difference when I remember to take things in stride.

5. Go Easy on Yourself 

This is coming from a self-proclaimed perfectionist. I am never easy on myself. In fact, I’m basically my own worst critic. But you kind of have to find a balance. Some self-reflection is a good thing, you know. It keeps you moving in the right direction. Too much and just you getting stuck on a carnival ride in your own head. God, I love the carnival rides in my head. I could ride them all day. But when I do, I forget to do all the other steps I listed here. My life becomes a vortex of chaos and I suck into it everything chaotic in my path. When I remember to go easy on myself, I can laugh at the little things that happen. I can forgive myself for not being perfect. And best of all, I can start my day over right from the last mishap. It’s like a checkpoint in Crash Badicoot, only you don’t lose a life, you just get to keep living it.

Let's Chat!

