Why I Stopped Washing My Face

My boyfriend suggested this to me a couple weeks ago. I was standing in front of the mirror, looking displeased and upset. He inquired as to what was wrong and I went on a rant about how NOTHING has worked for getting rid of my unruly acne.

At 15, I understood that acne was just part of being a teenager. At 22 I am over it. I have used every type of benzyl peroxide, home remedy, prescription medication and face wash you can imagine. I have creams, rubs, washes, masks and tools. I have ritualistically washed my face in the morning and night for years. I carry oil sheets with me to mop up the mid-day mess.

None of it worked. It was always a temporary solution to a never-ending problem and it drove me insane. So, I just stopped washing my face. To be fair, I do take my makeup off at night. I wash my face with warm water and remove the make-up, but I don’t put soap on my face.

The first few days were awful. I had zits full of puss, big nasty white zits all over my face. Normally I break out on my forehead and chin, but now I had zits on my lips, my nose, my cheeks, my eyebrow, my forehead, my chin. I looked 15 again.

I blasted my boyfriend that day as I stared angrily into the mirror at another failed attempt to clear up my face. I went online to see what others had done and experienced, and that’s why I am here today. I did not give up.

I kept that soap away from my face and just rode out the breakout cycle. When they started clearing up, I didn’t get anymore. Not only that, but the constant oil subsided and I didn’t need to mop up my face anymore.

Needless to say, I am overjoyed. Not only do I not need to spend hours scrubbing my face, but I will save money on face wash and all the other tools. Not in a million years would I have believed that not washing my face anymore would finally clear up my unruly acne.

It might not work for everyone, but it certainly has for me. I would say if you have tried everything, and nothing has worked, give it a try. But make sure you are ready for about a week of pretty nasty skin.

Call me a hippie, but next I am phasing out the shampoo. 😉

Peace&Love

Let's Chat!

